Over our fall break the members of Catchfire Collective down here in NC hit the road for Michigan to join our percussionist Isaac for two shows with some familiar pieces and some new ones. We performed at the Community Music School of Michigan State University and also at Grand Valley State University as part of their "FreePlay" recital series. 

Second Doctoral Recital at UNCG

On Saturday Nov 9th, Peter gave his second official doctoral recital in Tew Recital hall of UNCG. The program included the Ravel String Quartet, Webern's earliest known works, two unaccompanied works for Augusta Read Thomas, and Martinu's First Cello Sonata from 1939. Videos of the Augusta Read Thomas pieces can be viewed on Peter's YouTube channel here.

Di Domani Quartet Fall Recital

On Saturady Nov 16th, one week after Peter's recital, the Di Domani Quartet (in residence at UNCG) gave their fall recital at First Baptist Church, Greensboro. The program included the Ravel Quartet, Beethoven's Quartet Op. 95 Serioso and "Fast Ride in a Short-lived Machine" by UNCG Professor of Cello Alex Ezerman. For this piece, the entire group (including cello!) stood.

© 2020 by Peter Olaf Swanson

  • w-facebook
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Clean
  • White YouTube Icon