top of page

Dark Jewel Tones
For Pierrot Plus Percussion
Op. 15 (2021)

Dark Jewel Tones was written for Catchfire Collective

for its 2021-22 season opening concerts. The piece very loosely explores implications of the meaning behind the five jewel tones: Ruby, Emerald, Amethyst, Sapphire, and Citrine.

Rather than simply try to write music that "sounds like gemstones" I allowed myself to further explore the abstractions of the associated values for each stone to construct a five-movement work.


Greensboro NC, Sept 2021

Winston Salem NC, Sept 2021

Chapel Hill NC, Sept 2021

bottom of page